
 

    

  
  

Important Information on Eviction and 
Foreclosure Protections for Florida Residents 

On September 30, Governor Ron DeSantis allowed the state’s 
eviction and foreclosure moratorium to expire. The moratorium, 
which had been in effect since April and was amended slightly in 
August, protected Florida residents from eviction and foreclosure 
actions for non-payment of rent due to COVID-19. According to a 
press release, the Governor allowed the state moratorium to expire 
“to avoid any confusion over whether the CDC’s [Order] should apply 
in a particular circumstance.” 

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Order the 
Governor refers to was issued in early September. The Order, which 
protects eligible tenants from eviction for non-payment of rent 
through the end of 2020, is clear to apply only to states that do not 
have a moratorium on residential evictions with the same level of 
protection that the Order provides. Now, since the Florida 
moratorium is no longer in effect, it is clear that the CDC order will 
control Florida eviction protections through the end of 2020. 

  

The Eviction Protections in the CDC Order are Not Automatic – 
Tenants Must Deliver a Declaration to their Landlord 
The CDC Eviction Moratorium temporarily halts certain residential 
evictions for non-payment of rent through the end of 2020. The 
Order covers all standard rental housing, including mobile homes or 
land in a mobile home park, but does not cover individuals renting 
hotels, motels, or other guest homes rented temporarily. The Order 
does not waive rent or late fees associated with a rent payment. 
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To be protected from eviction, a tenant must submit a declaration to 
their landlord that meets CDC requirements. If a tenant does not 
submit a declaration to their landlord that meets CDC requirements, 
they can be evicted; the CDC eviction protections are not automatic. 
It is extremely important for housing advocates to educate tenants 
about their rights and ensure that every tenant in Florida is aware 
that they need to deliver a CDC Declaration to their landlord to be 
protected from eviction. 

To evoke the CDC protections, a tenant must declare under penalty 
of perjury that: 

• They have used best efforts to obtain all available government 
assistance for rent or housing; 

• They expect to (i) earn no more than $99,000 in annual 
income for Calendar Year 2020 (or no more than $198,000 if 
filing a joint tax return), (ii) were not required to report any 
income in 2019 to the U.S. Internal Revenue Service, or (iii) 
received an Economic Impact Payment (stimulus check) 
pursuant to Section 2201 of the CARES Act; 

• They are unable to pay the full rent or make a full housing 
payment due to substantial loss of household income, loss of 
compensable hours of work or wages, a lay-off, or 
extraordinary out-of-pocket medical expenses (an 
extraordinary expense is one likely to exceed 7.5% of one’s 
adjusted gross income for the year); 

• They are using best efforts to make timely partial payments 
that are close to the full payment as the individual’s 
circumstances may permit, taking into account other 
nondiscretionary expenses; and 

• Eviction would likely render the individual homeless – or force 
the individual to move into and live in close quarters in a new 
congregate or shared living setting – because the individual 
has no other available housing options. 

A tenant must also attest that they understand that they will still 
need to pay rent at the end of the moratorium and that any false or 
misleading statements may result in criminal and civil actions. If a 
tenant gives their landlord this declaration, the landlord cannot evict 
the tenant during the moratorium or will face monetary fines. 



The CDC has released a declaration that tenants can use to attest to 
these requirements. Housing advocates should use this form with 
tenants to help them evoke their eviction protections. 

Here are some resources to help educate tenants about their rights 
under the CDC eviction moratorium 

• National Low Income Housing Coalition Overview of National 
Eviction Moratorium 

• National Housing Law Project CDC Eviction Moratorium Fact 
Sheet 

• Community Justice Project Coronavirus Resource Page 
• Legal Services of Greater Miami COVID-19 Resources 

Please contact us if you have any questions navigating the CDC 
Eviction Moratorium. 

  

The CDC Order Does Not Prevent Foreclosures 
It is important to note that the CDC Moratorium does not cover 
foreclosures. Because the Governor’s order expired on October 1, 
there is currently no statewide order protecting homeowners from 
foreclosures due to COVID-19. However, a homeowner with a single-
family mortgage that is backed by a federal entity may still have 
federal protections against foreclosure. Homeowners with a single-
family mortgage backed by Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, the FHA, 
USDA, or VA are still protected from foreclosures through the end of 
2020. 

Homeowners with a mortgage that is not backed by a federal entity 
may not have foreclosure protections due to recent events. 
Homeowners should check what entity, if any, backs their mortgage 
to see what protections they have from foreclosure. 

  

Contact Us 
Please contact our Legal Director Kody Glazer 
at glazer@flhousing.org if you have any questions regarding the CDC 
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Eviction Moratorium or any other issue regarding COVID-19 relief 
and recovery. 
     

 


